My Soccer World

45,000 Attend National Stadium’s Closing Ceremony

Posted on: June 30, 2007

SINGAPORE: Some 45,000 people descended on the National Stadium on Saturday evening to bid farewell to the Grand Old Dame of Singapore Sports.

Activities started early with DJs getting the crowds all geared up for the closing ceremony show.

The stadium is best known for football, so a veterans match involving past stars from Singapore and Malaysia was part of the programme.

For some former international players, the stadium definitely brought back fond memories, having played there on numerous occasions.

Says V Sundramoorthy, ex-football player from Singapore, “Every time I entered the Stadium, the fans’ support was great῅we’re going to miss this great stadium here.”

“During the 1980s, in one of the pre-Olympic matches where we played Korea῅I was one of the up and coming youngsters, and that was when I made my name. Through the years we always played in front of 40-50,000, and it always brings back memories,” says David Lee, also an ex-football player from Singapore.

Apart from the players, many in the stands spent some great moments at the 34-year-old stadium.

“I like the national day parades here…that’s my most interesting event,” says one fan.

“The Pope visited here. I was here as well. Those are the memories I have and treasure!” says another.

“During the Malaysia Cup times, I used to come and see the [matches] between Singapore and the Malaysia team. That’s the best time in Singapore,” says fan Tan Keng Jin.

And the walk down memory lane continued on Saturday evening as sprinter C Kunalan ran into the stadium with a torch.

Flanked by six other athletes, he lit the cauldron for the very last time.

The stadium is to be demolished to make way for the new Sports Hub. – CNA/yy

Powered by Channel News Asia

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 40,078 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories